Seattle Metropolitans 1917

MLS Cup, Super Bowl, NBA championship, WNBA championships...Stanley Cup?

One hundred years ago, on March 26th, 1917 the Seattle Metropolitans Hockey Club became the first American-based team to win the famed Stanley Cup by defeating the Montreal Canadiens 9-1 in game 4 between the National Hockey Association champions Montreal and Pacific Coast Hockey Association champion, Seattle.

The best-of-five series, which was played entirely at the Seattle Arena on 5th Avenue, played 7-man aside under PCHA rules in games 1 and 3, and 6-man aside under NHA rules in games 2 and 4.

In the first game, Montreal, with four goals by Didier Pitre, won 8-4 and took a 1-0 series lead. 

But Seattle would take the next three games. Led by the offensive output of Bernie Morris (he scored 14 out of Seattle's 23 goals in the series), the Mets won by scores of 6-1, 4-1 and 9-1 to take the cup.

Top row L-R: Harry "Happy" Holmes (G), Bobby Rowe (D & Captain), Eddie Carpenter (D), Jack Walker (Rover)
Middle L-R: Frank Foyston (C), Pete Muldoon (Coach)
Bottom row L-R: Bernie Morris (C), Cully Wilson (RW), Roy Rickey (D), Jim Riley (F)

Rocco's Collections