Seattle World Champions 1917

In Seattle's sporting history, the city has won major championships in professional soccer, football, women's and men's basketball....and hockey?

One hundred years ago, on March 26th, 1917 the Seattle Hockey Club became the first American-based team to win the famed Stanley Cup by defeating Montreal  9-1 in game 4 between the National Hockey Association champions and the Pacific Coast Hockey Association champions, Seattle.

The best-of-five series, which was played entirely at the Seattle Arena on 5th Avenue, played 7-man aside under PCHA rules in games 1 and 3, and 6-man aside under NHA rules in games 2 and 4.

In the first game, Montreal, with four goals by Didier Pitre, won 8-4 and took a 1-0 series lead. 

But Seattle would take the next three games. Led by the offensive output of Bernie Morris (he scored 14 out of Seattle's 23 goals in the series), Seattle won by scores of 6-1, 4-1 and 9-1 to take the cup.  

Left side, top to bottom: Bernie Morris (C), Harry "Happy" Holmes (G), Bobby Rowe (D), Eddie Carpenter (D), Jack Walker (Rover)
Right side, top to bottom:Cully Wilson (RW), Roy Rickey (D), Jim Riley (F), Pete Muldoon (Coach), Frank Foyston (C and captain).